How to match your foundation (Asian’s Yellow Skin Version)

After a long hiatus, I am finally ready to write more posts on a schedule and what’s better than an actual useful post?

I don’t know about you, but I had a really hard time looking for foundations that matches my skin well.

I’m sure many of you have heard of the term warm-tone, cool-tone and neutral-tone. One way, I heard, to check your ‘tone’ is to look at your veins (on your wrist). If you have greenish veins, you have a warm-tone skin. If you have bluish veins, you have a cool-tone skin. If your veins are both kinda blue and green, you might have a neutral-tone skin.

For a more detailed explanation on different tones of the skin, check out this page.

BUT!

I initially thought that I was neutral, leaning to warm, tone since my face is quite ‘pink’ but whenever I wear foundations that matches my face well, it looks weird against my neck.

After trying bottles after bottles of foundation, from high-end to drugstore, in various shades. I finally found my problem. My face is really pink but my neck/body is really yellow! So what did I do to solve this?

Different people have different thoughts about where to match your foundations too, but I think it is super important to match your foundation to your neck/body. To me it looks more natural that way because it is as if your whole body, from head to toe is of an uniformed color.

Last year, I posted a review on the LLaura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation. I have the colour ‘Blush’ and it matches my face really well, but unfortunately, not my whole body.

Anyways, enough rambling, let me show you the foundation on my face. (Excuse the messy hair and tired-looking face, this was early in the morning, even before I washed my face because I wanted to wash this off right after and do my proper skin care/makeup)

20140528-115506-42906892.jpg
This photo is taken right by the window, because you can see the flaws of makeup under natural lighting better. As you may be able to see, there’s a distinctive line between the part covered with foundation, and the part not covered with foundation. I have no other makeup on, only the foundation.

20140528-115649-43009832.jpg
Can you see the line better now? See how the foundation is too ‘pink’ for my yellow-colored neck?

20140528-115729-43049991.jpg
Can you tell even better?

So how do you solve this, you ask? Well, I am going to show you how.

Lately I am trying out the Kat Von D’s Lock-it foundation in the shade Light 48.

20140528-120956-43796466.jpg
Even though this is meant for someone with ‘beige’ undertone, it is still too pink for me, so I mix it a little of the L’Oreal True Match Super Blend-able Foundation in the shade C2.

20140528-121144-43904908.jpg
I put in about a 1:1 ratio of each foundation and mix them up together!

20140528-121405-44045457.jpg
TADAAA!

20140528-121426-44066808.jpg
Apply it to your face. I used a buffing brush.

20140528-121509-44109931.jpg
Photo taken by the window, under natural lighting.

20140528-121920-44360177.jpg
As you may be able to tell, the significant line is not as obviously anymore. Most foundation will set even better after a while.

Of course I cannot speak for all skin tones, but this is what I personally do. Outside under sunlight, my foundation looks so much better compared to last time.

20140528-122240-44560043.jpg
Photo taken, in the car, about an hour after full makeup is applied. I rarely put on makeup that full on a daily basis, it is for demonstration purposes today.

And yes, I am aware that I have many blemishes. There will be a post on my favorite concealers next week and if you would like know how to apply the concealer to create ‘flawless-looking’ skin, please go look up the thousands concealer video on YouTube as they definitely do a better job than me applying and explaining them.

Ok, signing off.

Sam

Leave a Reply

