Review: Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation

Hey everyone, today I’m back with another post! I am reviewing the two Laura Mercier’s face base that I personally own which is the Silk Creme Foundation and the Original Tinted Moisturizer SPF 20. But today, we are going to focus only on the Silk Creme Foundation.

So how I am going to do these kind of posts is that I will first talk about each of them in two separate posts and then compare them together in another post. Ok, let’s go.

First up, the foundation.

Image

On the Laura Mercier’s website, the foundation is describe as “an innovative full coverage foundation that makes the skin look luminous and rich. By combining a special collection of silk proteins, tea extracts and treated mica, Laura has created a luxurious formula that leaves skin hydrated and protected with a radiant, timeless glow.”

I first up want to mention that I have combination acne-prone skin that is super sensitive. More information, here.

Image

Broke my skin out? No, it didn’t.
Coverage? Good medium to full coverage, which can be sheered down by using a damp sponge.
Apply with fingers, brush or sponge? I personally prefer apply foundation with my fingers, especially for this foundation because it gets streaking when applied with standard foundation brush and sponge gave sheer coverage, which is what I DON’T WANT when using this foundation.
How to apply? I apply some of the product on my fingers and rub the foundation between them to warm it up and apply to my face, blending them out in circular motions on my face.
Colour/Shade? I have this foundation in shade Rose Ivory, when first applied, it seems to be too fair for my skin but after I let it set for a few minutes, it oxidized to be a perfect match to my skin tone.

It also doesn’t have any SPF in it so it might be a disappointment to some but I personally like it that way because I usually wear this to events, dinner or where I know my photos would possibly be taken and I don’t want any light casts on my face. But please wear a sunblock or any SPF underneath the foundation if you are going to be under the sun.

Image All in all, I think this is a perfect foundation when I want fuller coverage and a flawless finish. I like that this foundation is relatively luminous, though you can also make it matte by dusting some setting powder on. It is recommended to be use with a primer underneath, so check out Laura Mercier’s primers if you are interested. It is said to be perfect for all skin types. Click on this link, to find out more about the Silk Creme foundation. If the Silk Creme is not up your alley, Laura Mercier has many other foundation that I have heard great reviews of, so check it out at your local counters.

In Malaysia, you can find Laura Mercier in Lot 10, One Utama, Pavillion, the Gardens Mid Valley, Bangsar Village II and Parkson Grand Gurney Plaza.
As of the time I am writing this post, this foundation retails for RM169 locally and you can also find it online locally at Kensapothecary.

Hope you found this post useful and please leave a comment if you have any other question.

Thank you!
Sam

5 thoughts on “Review: Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation

  1. Looks so nice. your photography is spot on which is essential when posting on make up – Hate to see it in the bottle! Lovely post x

  2. Pingback: Review: Laura Mercier’s Original Tinted Moisturizer SPF20 | The samevernever's blog

  3. Pingback: How to match your foundation (Asian’s Yellow Skin Version) | The samevernever's blog

Leave a Reply

